Did you know that because of its proximity to the Equator in Ecuador (or the Republic of Ecuador to give it the correct name) there is very little variation in daylight hours throughout the year – sunrise and sunset are the same every day of the year.

Ecuador has borders with Colombia and Peru.  The  Galápagos Islands which are famous for the many species which live there including iguanas, turtles and penguins to name but a few are also part of Ecuador.

In 1822 Ecuador gained its independence from Spain and became a Republic in 1830.   The  President is elected for a term of 4 years, the current President is Lenín Moreno who was elected in April 2017.

There was a major banking crisis in Ecuador in 1998 to 1999 and the currency depreciated drastically leading to the official currency becoming the US Dollar in the year 2000.

The majority of Ecuadorians are of Mestizo descent which means that their ancestors were both European and American Indian.  This came about as the first wave of immigration to Ecuador were Spanish colonists, followed by a  lower number of other Europeans and North Americans and, in smaller numbers, Poles, Lithuanians, English, Irish, and Croats during and after the Second World War.

As for education, the Ecuadorian government states that every child should attend school until they achieve a “basic level of education” however poorer families often struggle to pay for education and there is a low level of secondary education, especially in rural areas.  Ideally the government would like all children to attend school for 9 years but the average is just under 7 years.

At a Glance Facts

  • Population – 16,863,425 (2018)
  • Language – Spanish
  • International Dialling Code – 593
  • Time – Ecuador is 5 hours behind the UK







Ave. Summer Temperature:
Ave. Winter Temperature:
United States Dollar
Location / Status:
South America

View all Universities in Ecuador