About Mexico

Mexico is located in North America, bordering the Caribbean Sea and the Gulf of Mexico, between Belize and the United States and bordering the North Pacific Ocean, between Guatemala and the United States.  Its official name is the United Mexican States.  Mexico is a federation of 31 states and a Federal District, the capital, Mexico City.  It has more Spanish speakers than any other country and it is the most populated country in Latin America.

Mexico is a Federal constitutional republic with 2 legislative houses, Senate and Chamber of Duties.   The President of Mexico only serves one term of 6 years and is not eligible for re-election.

Mexico has tropical forests, dry deserts, fertile valleys as well as snow-capped mountains.   The weather is as varied as its terrain.  The coastal climate is generally balmy all year round; though some months are rainy others are dry.  Surprisingly it can be very cold between the months of December and February.  The Uplands are comparatively arid.  There is a rainy season which lasts from May to September or October and no rain during the rest of the year.   Beware there is a hurricane season from June – November.

At a glance facts

  • Official language: Spanish
  • International dialling code: 33
  • Timezone: GMT – 6
  • Population: 130,759,074 (2018)

Ave. Summer Temperature:
Ave. Winter Temperature:
The Peso (MXN)
Location / Status:
North America

View all Universities in Mexico